` Belfort becomes first fighter to KO Dan Henderson - Fighters Only Magazine

Belfort becomes first fighter to KO Dan Henderson


Vitor Belfort is surely in the latter stage of his career, but his swansong has more than a touch of eagle to it as he keeps striking with success. The latest victim was former PRIDE FC champion Dan Henderson, who was felled by a head kick in the second round.

They fought in 2006 under the PRIDE FC banner - Pride 32 in Las Vegas - but Belfort looked younger in last night’s performance than he did in the first one, which he lost by decision. Obviously there is more than a little thanks to be given to his TRT program but as Henderson is also a user of the controversial therapy, this was a level playing field.

Belfort has been calling for title shots over and over. This year he has stopped names like Michael Bisping and Dan Henderson, the latter being clean KO’d for the first time in his career. These are notable achievements and it is a shame the TRT controversy hangs over them.

The card overall was not a stacked one and there was nothing particularly notable in terms of impacts on rankings or the contender picture. Big knockouts abounded though - check out Jeremy Stephens’ win - and we also probably saw the end of Paulo Thiago’s tenure with the UFC as he suffered yet another loss.

Main Card (aired live on Fox Sports 1)

-Vitor Belfort defeated Dan Henderson by Knockout (Kick, Round 1, 1:17)

-Cezar “Mutante” Ferreira defeated Daniel Sarafian by Split Decision (28-29, 30-27, 30-28)

-Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante defeated Igor Pokrajac by Submission (Strikes, 1st Round, 1:18)

-Brandon Thatch defeated Paulo Thiago by TKO (Strikes, 1st Round, 2:10)

-Ryan LaFlare defeated Santiago Ponzinibbio by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

-Jeremy Stephens defeated Rony Jason by KO (Strikes, 1st Round, 0:40)

Preliminary Card (aired live on YouTube)

-Sam Sicilia defeated Godofredo Pepey by TKO (Strikes, 1st Round, 1:42)

-Omari Akhmedov defeated Thiago Perpetuo by TKO (Ref Stoppage, 1st Round)

-Thiago Tavares defeated Justin Salas by Submission (RNC, 1st Round, 2:38)

-Adriano Martins defeated Daron Cruickshank by Submission (Straight Arm Lock, Round 2, 2:49)

-Dustin Ortiz defeated Jose Maria Tome by TKO (Ref stoppage, 3rd Round, 3:19)