Home favourite Eduard Folayang delivered the performance and the result his fans were hoping for tonight (April 21) at the the Mall Of Asia Arena in Manila, Philippines, as he stayed one step ahead of his game Malaysian challenger Ev Ting to grind out a five-round decision victory and retain his ONE lightweight crown.

Ting, five years Folayang’s junior, played his part in the battle, pushing the champion hard, especially early, but Folayang’s greater experience and work-rate ultimately paid dividends. He made the necessary adjustments following a whirlwind start and was, ultimately, content to pick Ting off with intelligent counter-striking from the outside, showcasing a vast arsenal of leg-kicks and elaborate spinning strikes.

In the end, this variety proved too much for Ting. The fight hit a rhythm, one which suited Folayang, 18-5, and it wasn’t long before the Filipino fans in attendance – one of whom was boxing legend Manny Pacquiao – sensed their man was going to bring it home.

Always the busier, 32-year-old Folayang secured a unanimous decision victory after five hard-fought rounds.

“It means a lot,” the champion said in the aftermath. “I know a lot of you guys were discouraged the last time I was here (referring to a knockout loss he suffered in front of his Filipino fans in December 2014). I slept on the mat, and I know a lot of you felt sorry for me. But I needed to rise up in my circumstances. I needed to train well. I needed to pray a lot and prepare a lot. So this is it. This is the loss that you all witnessed two years ago. It is on my shoulders, and I would like to give it all back to you, because you came back again to witness how I returned. Thank you so much.”


Main Card results:

Eduard Folayang defeated Ev Ting via unanimous decision

Kevin Belingon defeated Toni Tauru via TKO in round two (2:27)

Honorio Banario defeated Jaroslav Jartim via KO in round two (1:31)

Christian Lee defeated Wan Jian Ping via TKO in round two (4:15)

Danny Kingad defeated Muhammad Aiman via unanimous decision

Stefer Rahardian defeated Eugene Toquero via unanimous decision

Xie Bin defeated Chan Rothana via submission in round two (1:46)


Preliminary Card results:

Gina Iniong defeated Natalie Gonzales Hills via unanimous decision

Michelle Nicolini defeated Irina Mazepa via submission in round one (2:11)

Robin Catalan defeated Jeremy Miado via split decision