UFC 287 has a confirmed main event, with the long-standing rivalry between Alex Pereira and Israel Adesanya set for its latest chapter.

Pereira and Adesanya faced off twice in the kickboxing ring earlier in their careers, then faced off in the UFC Octagon, where Pereira defeated Adesanya via fifth-round knockout to capture the undisputed middleweight title at UFC 281.

It means Pereira leads the rivalry 3-0 overall, and 1-0 under MMA rules, but Adesanya remains one of the top talents, and biggest stars, in the UFC and an immediate rematch between the pair has now been booked.

The bout was officially announced by UFC president Dana White in a live video posted across the promotion’s many social media channels, with White also announcing a host of other bouts for the April 8 event.

Also confirmed for the event is a welterweight clash between former title challengers Gilbert Burns and Jorge Masvidal, while Kevin Holland and Santiago Ponzinibbio will go head to head, also at 170 pounds.

White also announced a pair of bantamweight matchups, with crowd-pleasing 135-pounders Rob Font and Adrian Yanez set to face off, while teenage sensation Raul Rosas Jr. will take on fellow Contender Series graduate Christian Rodriguez. A middleweight bout between Gerald Meerschaert and Joe Pyfer was also confirmed.

Those matchups join a clutch of other reported matchups to form a stacked lineup for the event, which does not yet have a confirmed location or venue.

But, based on the strength of the bout list so far, the event should attract a bumper crowd with a host of fan-favorite talents set for action.

UFC 287: Confirmed bouts

  • Alex Pereira (c) vs. Israel Adesanya – for middleweight title
  • Gilbert Burns vs. Jorge Masvidal
  • Kevin Holland vs. Santiago Ponzinibbio
  • Raul Rosas Jr. vs. Christian Rodriguez
  • Rob Font vs. Adrian Yanez
  • Gerald Meerschaert vs. Joe Pyfer
  • Kelvin Gastelum vs. Chris Curtis
  • Cynthia Calvillo vs. Loopy Godinez
  • Michelle Waterson-Gomez vs. Luana Pinheiro
  • Ignacio Bahamondes vs. Nikolas Motta
  • Shayilan Nuerdanbieke vs. Steve Garcia