Rising welterweight contender Belal Muhammad extended his undefeated streak to eight fights with a unanimous decision victory over Vicente Luque, then turned his sights on outspoken former interim champion Colby Covington.

Muhammad outpointed fellow contender Luque over the five-round main event duration to earn scores of 49-46, 49-46, 48-47 from the three cageside judges at the UFC Apex.

It meant that Muhammad extended his unbeaten run to seven wins and one no contest since his last loss, a decision defeat to Geoff Neal back in January 2019.

Muhammad’s victory also avenged his prior TKO defeat to Luque at UFC 205 at Madison Square Garden in November 2016.

“This was my hump I had to get over. He knocked me out. He beat me. I had to think about that my whole camp,” he told Daniel Cormier after his win.

“The trolls on Twitter, everyone that was posting it. What have you got to say now? I won.

“I respect the guy. I talked to the guy, he’s one of the nicest guys in the world. I knew it was going to be one of my hardest challenges. Now I’m ready.”

And “Remember The Name” had a name ready to go when Cormier asked him who he wanted to see opposite him in the octagon next time.

“I’m going to stop calling for the champ, because nobody wants to call me and give me that shot,” he said.

“So let me get the big-mouth Karen, Colby Covington, who’s out here calling out ’55ers.

“Come and fight a real ’70-pounder, you coward. I’m a real ’70-pounder.

“I’m winning fights. I’m not Masvidal off of two losses, I’m not Woodley off of five losses, I’m ‘Bully B’ off of seven wins. Come and fight a real challenge, coward!”

UFC on ESPN 34: Official Results


  • Belal Muhammad def. Vicente Luque via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 48-47)
  • Caio Borralho def. Gadzhi Omargadzhiev via unanimous technical decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27) – Round 3, 3:56
  • Andre Fialho def. Miguel Baeza via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 4:39
  • Mayra Bueno Silva def. Wu Yanan via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
  • Pat Sabatini def. T.J. Laramie via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
  • Mounir Lazzez def. Ange Loosa via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)


  • Devin Clark def. William Knight via TKO (punches) – Round 3, 3:21
  • Pannie Kianzad def. Lina Lansberg via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Drakkar Klose def. Brandon Jenkins via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 0:33
  • Rafa Garcia def. Jesse Ronson via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 2, 4:50
  • Martin Buday def. Chris Barnett via unanimous technical decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27) – Round 3, 1:35
  • Jordan Leavitt def. Trey Ogden via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Sam Hughes def. Istela Nunes via majority decision (29-27, 29-27, 28-28)
  • Heili Alateng def. Kevin Croom via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 0:47