The battle for the vacant Cage Warriors welterweight title ended in dramatic fashion at Cage Warriors 140 as a new champion was crowned in Belfast.

Rhys McKee and Justin Burlinson engaged in a back-and-forth war for the 170-pound strap, with “Skeletor” eventually prevailing with a dramatic third-round knockout.

Earlier in the exchange, Burlinson came close to connecting with a spinning back-elbow, but the strike missed and McKee made him pay with a short punch that landed flush to Burlinson’s chin and sent him crashing to the canvas.

The knockout sent the Belfast crowd into raptures as Northern Ireland’s McKee claimed championship gold on home soil.

Cage Warriors 140: Official Results


  • Rhys McKee def. Justin Burlinson via knockout (punches) – Round 3, 0:20
  • Caolan Loughran def. Festus Ahorlu via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 3:20
  • James Sheehan def. Martin Causse via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 1:16
  • Federico Pasquali vs. Harry Hardwick scored a majority draw (28-28, 28-28, 28-29)
  • Ryan Shelley def. Matthew Elliott via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)


  • Michele Martignoni def. Scott Malone via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 29-28)
  • James Power def. Adam Shelley via TKO (punches) – Round 2, 4:23
  • Michael Tchamou def. Glenn Irvine via knockout (punches) – Round 1, 0:30
  • Adam Darby def. Dorian Cliucinicov via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 4:29