The UFC has lined up two big championship fights, plus a title eliminator, as the promotion officially unveiled its main card lineup for UFC 290.

The event, which takes place at T-Mobile Arena on Saturday, July 8, forms the main attraction of UFC International Fight Week as the promotion’s annual week-long jamboree of combat sports festivities take place in Las Vegas.

Headlining UFC 290 is a battle for the unified UFC featherweight championship, as reigning champion Alexander Volkanovski takes on interm champion Yair Rodriguez.

Also confirmed for July 8 is a flyweight title clash between defending champion Brandon Moreno and top contender Alexandre Pantoja in a Mexico versus Brazil clash.

The identity of the next man to challenge Israel Adesanya for the undisputed UFC middleweight title will also be discovered, as former champion Robert Whittaker takes on in-form contender Dricus du Plessis in a title eliminator bout at 185 pounds.

Also confirmed for the main card are a lightweight bout between rising contender Jalin Turner and Kiwi crowd-pleaser Dan Hooker, plus a middleweight showcase bout between Contender Series alum and college wrestling phenom Bo Nickal and The Ultimate Fighter finalist Tresean Gore.

The fights were officially confirmed by UFC president Dana White, who also announced four preliminary card matchups for the event.

Former welterweight champion Robbie Lawler takes on Niko Price, while welterweight contender Sean Brady faces Australian knockout artist Jack Della Maddalena.

Undefeated Mexican strawweight Yazmin Jauregui will look to make it three wins in a row under the UFC banner when she takes on Brazil’s Denise Gomes.

The event will also see the return of former UFC flyweight champion Deiveson Figueiredo, who takes on Manel Kape in a potentially explosive bout at 125 pounds.

UFC 290: Confirmed bouts


  • Alexander Volkanovski vs. Yair Rodriguez – for unified featherweight title
  • Brandon Moreno vs. Alexandre Pantoja – for flyweight title
  • Robert Whittaker vs. Dricus du Plessis
  • Jalin Turner vs. Dan Hooker
  • Bo Nickal vs. Tresean Gore


  • Robbie Lawler vs. Niko Price
  • Sean Brady vs. Jack Della Maddalena
  • Yazmin Jauregui vs. Denise Gomes
  • Deiveson Figueiredo vs. Manel Kape