Glover Teixeira claimed an emotional win as he captured the UFC light heavyweight title, 19 years after his pro MMA debut, and just two days after his 42nd birthday.

Teixeira submitted defending champion Jan Blachowicz in the second round to capture the title and complete a remarkable run back to the top of the UFC’s 205-pound division, seven years after his first crack at the title fell short against Jon Jones at UFC 172.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by UFC Europe (@ufceurope)

But against Blachowicz, Teixeira was dialed in and focused as he dominated the Pole on the mat to claim what turned out to be a straightforward victory against the out-of-sorts Pole, who joked after the fight that he had left his “Legendary Polish Power” in his hotel room.

The night also saw an interim bantamweight champion crowned, as former undisputed champ Petr Yan claimed a unanimous decision victory over Cory Sandhagen after a thrilling five round title fight.

There were also big wins on the night for Islam Makhachev and Khamzat Chimaev, who claimed quickfire submission finishes of Dan Hooker and Li Jingliang, respectively.

UFC 267: Live Results

Main Card

  • Glover Teixeira def. Jan Blachowicz (c) via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 2, 2:02  – for light heavyweight title
  • Petr Yan def. Cory Sandhagen via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) – for interim bantamweight title
  • Islam Makhachev def. Dan Hooker via submission (Kimura) – Round 1, 2:25
  • Alexander Volkov def. Marcin Tybura (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
  • Khamzat Chimaev def. Li Jingliang via technical submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 1, 3:16
  • Magomed Ankalaev def. Volkan Oezdemir via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)


  • Amanda Ribas def. Virna Jandiroba via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Zubaira Tukhugov def. Ricardo Ramos via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Albert Duraev def. Roman Kopylov via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-27, 29-27)
  • Elizeo Zaleski dos Santos def. Benoit St-Denis via unanimous decision (29-26, 29-26, 29-26)
  • Michal Oleksiejczuk def. Shamil Gamzatov via TKO (punches) – Round 1, 3:31
  • Lerone Murphy def. Makwan Amirkhani via knockout (knee) – Round 2, 0:14
  • Andre Petroski def. Hu Yaozong via submission (arm-triangle choke) Round 3, 4:46
  • Tagir Ulanbekov def. Allan Nascimento via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Photo credit: @UFCEurope on Instagram