Saturday, December 11 sees two of the best lightweight fighters on the planet go toe to toe for the undisputed UFC 155-pound title, with both men looking to cement themselves as the world’s premier fighter in their weight class.

Newly-crowned champion Charles Oliveira capped a career packed with highlight-reel moments as he converted his first title fight opportunity with a come-from-behind victory over Michael Chandler as he captured the undisputed lightweight title at UFC 262.

It was a feel-good moment for hardcore fans of the sport, who had witnessed Oliveira’s rise through the lightweight ranks without ever being installed as a top contender to face a reigning champion.

But, following the retirement of Khabib Nurmagomedov, the lightweight belt was rendered vacant, and Oliveira’s undeniable CV and remarkable win streak finally earning him a shot at gold.

Now riding a nine-fight win streak, including eight finishes, “Do Bronx” faces a first in his 40-fight MMA career – a world title defence.

That maiden test as UFC champ will see him take on former interim champion Dustin Poirier, a man who has made his name as a fighter who will step into the cage to face anyone, and who will always put on a fan-friendly performance.

Poirier’s lone shot at lightweight gold ended in defeat at UFC 242 when he was submitted by Nurmagmedov in Abu Dhabi, but now, after following up a victory over Dan Hooker with back-to-back TKO finishes of Conor McGregor, Poirier is poised for his second crack at the title.

Oliveira vs. Poirier forms the mouthwatering main event at UFC 269 as the UFC brings the curtain down on a remarkable year of events with a spectacular end-of-year card in Las Vegas. Ahead of fight night, check out the UFC’s in-depth preview of the main event in their UFC 269 Countdown show.

UFC 269: Fight Card

Main Card

  • Charles Oliveira (c) vs. Dustin Poirier – for lightweight title
  • Amanda Nunes (c) vs. Julianna Pena – for women’s bantamweight title
  • Geoff Neal vs. Santiago Ponzinibbio
  • Kai Kara-France vs. Cody Garbrandt
  • Raulian Paiva vs. Sean O’Malley

Preliminary Card

  • Josh Emmett vs. Dan Ige
  • Dominick Cruz vs. Pedro Munhoz
  • Augusto Sakai vs. Tai Tuivasa
  • Jordan Wright vs. Bruno Silva

Early Prelims

  • Andre Muniz vs. Eryk Anders
  • Erin Blanchfield vs. Miranda Maverick
  • Alex Perez vs. Matt Schnell
  • Ryan Hall vs. Darrick Minner
  • Randy Costa vs. Tony Kelley
  • Gillian Robertson vs. Priscila Cachoeira