Jan Blachowicz makes UFC light heavyweight title shot claim with first-round KO win over Corey Anderson

The UFC light heavyweight division’s waters got a whole lot muddier.

Former KSW champion Jan Blachowicz made it three impressive wins on the bounce after the knocked out Corey Anderson in the first round in New Mexico on Saturday night.

The result reinserts the Polish fighter back into the title picture while Dominick Reyes, who lost a contentious decision to champion Jon Jones last weekend, campaigns for a rematch.

It was a slow, timid start to the fight which exploded into life around the three minute mark and ended abruptly.

Anderson looked to initiate an attack only to be met by a booming right hook which floored him. A customary, if perhaps unnecessary, hammerfist then forced referee Herb Dean to call a stop to the action.

Blachowicz called out champion Jones, who was in attendace, for a title fight following his victory. Let’s see if he gets his wish.


Diego Sanchez wins by disqualification over Michel Pereira

Michel Pereira managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory in New Mexico.

The Brazilian was seemingly on his way to a near-certain victory over wily veteran Diego Sanchez on Saturday night, only to let his over-zealousness get the better of him.

Pereira had Sanchez hurt after driving a volley of knees into his head and body. The final knee of the body sent Sanchez down to the mat up against the cage, only for “Demolidor” to drive another into the face of his downed opponent – a clear foul.

The knee opened up a nasty cut on Sanchez’s forehead and ultimately said he could not continue to fight. The action was called off by referee Jason Herzog at 3:09 of round three.

It’s not how he’d like to win, but this sees Sanchez move up to three wins from his last four bouts.


UFC Fight Night: Corey Anderson vs. Jan Blachowicz 2

Light Heavyweight: Jan Błachowicz def. Corey Anderson by KO (punch) at 3:08 of round one
Welterweight: Diego Sanchez def. Michel Pereira by DQ (illegal knee) at 3:09 of round three
Women’s Flyweight: Montana De La Rosa def. Mara Romero Borella by unanimous decision after three rounds
Lightweight: Brok Weaver def. Kazula Vargas by DQ (illegal knee) at 4:02 of round one
Catchweight (128 lbs): Ray Borg def. Rogério Bontorin by unanimous decision after three rounds
Lightweight: Lando Vannata def. Yancy Medeiros by unanimous decision after three rounds
Welterweight: Daniel Rodriguez def. Tim Means by submission (standing guillotine choke) at 3:37 of round two
Bantamweight: John Dodson def. Nathaniel Wood by TKO (punches) at 0:16 of round three
Lightweight: Scott Holtzman def. Jim Miller by unanimous decision after three rounds
Light Heavyweight: Devin Clark def. Dequan Townsend by unanimous decision after three rounds
Bantamweight: Merab Dvalishvili def. Casey Kenney by unanimous decision after three rounds
Women’s Bantamweight: Macy Chiasson def. Shanna Young by unanimous decision after three rounds
Flyweight: Raulian Paiva def. Mark De La Rosa by KO (punches) at 4:42 of round two