What’s on this week in MMA? Feb 23-25

Another week, another seven days of MMA action to feast your eyes upon. This week sees leading promotions UFC, Cage Warriors, ONE Championship, and ACB hosting events this week.

To do Fighters Only readers a solid, we’ve picked the highlights of all MMA events coming up this weekend.

Read on to find out where and when these cards are taking place. And we’ll also throw in some viewing details so you can watch the action for yourself.

 

Friday February 23rd: ONE Championship: Quest for Gold

ONE Championship arrives in Yangon, Myanmar, for its ‘Quest for Gold’ event on Friday.

The headline act pits Brazilian Alexandre Machado against Myanmar’s own Aung La Nsang for the light heavyweight championship.

Nsang is presently riding a two-fight win streak after immediately avenging a tight decision loss to Russian Vitaly Bigdash in a rematch to win his middleweight belt in June of last year. Now, Nsang steps up a weight class to try and become a two-division champion.

Machado is also on a high, having dispatched Cameroonian fighter Alain Ngalani inside two rounds to earn his shot at the title.

Full fight card

Main card (Global: iPPV via ONEPPV.com – 08:30am ET, 05:30am PT (USA)  |  12:30pm GMT (UK))
Aung La Nsang vs. Alexandre Machado
Ev Ting vs. Ariel Sexton
Phoe Thaw vs. Sor Sey
Amir Khan vs. Timofey Nastyukhin
Dae Hwan Kim vs. Daichi Takenaka
Saw Min Min vs. Ye Thway Ne
Roel Rosauro vs. Kai Wen Li

Preliminary Card – Facebook / Twitter – 7:30am ET / 4:30am PT
Krisna Limbaga vs. Priscilla Hertati Lumban Gaol
Bozhena Antoniyar vs. Shwe Sin

 

Friday February 23rd: ACB 81: Carneiro vs. Saidov

Absolute Championship Berkut (ACB) events come thick and fast.

On Friday, the Russian-based promotion makes its first trip to the United Arab Emirates with ACB 81 taking place at The Dome in Dubai Sports City.

The event is headlined by a fight featuring ex-UFC fighter Roan Carneiro and former KSW welterweight champion Aslambek Saidov.

Saidov, originally of Grozny in Chechnya, Russia, fights out of Poland like his cousin and Polish MMA legend Mamed Khalidov. And with Carneiro’s experience of eight fights in the UFC, this will be a fun well-matched fight as the duo look to get closer to the ACB welterweight championship.

The co-main event sees former UFC middleweight Luke Barnatt return to light heavyweight to take on Russian Maxim Futin,

ACB were in the news earlier this week, announcing that ex-UFC heavyweight champion Frank Mir will be co-promoting events with the company in 2018.

Full fight card

Main card (Global: Free stream on Fite.tv – 09:00am ET, 06:00am PT (USA)  |  14:00pm GMT (UK))
Aslambek Saidov vs. Roan Carneiro
Maxim Futin vs. Luke Barnatt
Abdul-Rakhman Dzhanaev vs. Leandro Silva
Yoni Sherbatov vs. Josiel Silva
Narek Avagyan vs. Isaac Pimentel
Islam Isaev vs. Thiago Silva
Ramazan Kuramagomedov vs. Georgi Valentinov
Baz Mohammad vs. Iain Feenan
Maharbek Karginov vs. Francisco Maciel
Tanner Boser vs. DJ Linderman
Ahmed Wali Hotak vs. Vladislav Stepanov
Khusein Sheikhaev vs. Diego Silva
Kadir Dalkiran vs. Shoaib Yousaf

 

Saturday February 24th: Cage Warriors 90: McCann vs. Tyrell

Cage Warriors returns to Liverpool’s Echo Arena this weekend for Cage Warriors 90: McCann vs. Tyrell.

As to be expected, the card is crammed with talent local to Liverpool and England’s North West – a long-time MMA hub for the United Kingdom.

The main event sees Liverpool’s own Molly McCann, one of Europe’s fastest rising female fighting prospects, fight for the vacant women’s flyweight title against the wily Bryony Tyrell, who has won multiple championships during her career.

Meanwhile, fan favourite Paddy Pimblett returns to fight in his hometown against experienced Greek featherweight Alexis Savvidis.This is the first time Pimblett appears in a Cage Warriors cage since his shock decision loss to Nad Narimani in April 2017.

Other Liverpudlians on the card include heavyweight Shawn Kenny, who takes on Austria’s Ruben Wolf, and Lawrence Fitzpatrick will compete against Norwegian talent Alexander Jacobsen.

Full fight card

Main card (FOX – 20:00pm ET, 17:00pm PT (USA)  |  BT Sport – 21:00pm GMT (UK))
Molly McCann vs Bryony Tyrell
Alexander Jacobsen vs Lawrence Fitzpatrick
Shawn Kenny vs Ruben Wolf
Paddy Pimblett vs Alexis Savvidis

Pro preliminary card (Global: Free stream on Sport Bible Facebook page – 14:00pm ET, 11:00am PT (USA)  |  19:00pm GMT (UK))
Elliot Jenkins vs Josh Abraham
Matthew Bonner vs Mick Stanton
Bobby Pallett vs Dillon Manning
Andreas Tricomitis vs Mark Kinsella

 

Saturday February 24th: UFC on FOX 28: Emmett vs. Stephens

The UFC rolls into Orlando for the third time in its history on Saturday night for UFC on FOX 28.

A top featherweight bout between the fast-rising Josh Emmett, fresh off an upset win over Ricardo Lamas, and the tough as nails Jeremy Stephens in what is sure to be a fascinating fight.

Stephens himself is riding high following a unanimous decision victory over former Strikeforce lightweight champion Gilbert Melendez and a stunning TKO win against Doo Ho Choi earlier in January.

Elsewhere on the card, two top strawweights in Jessica Andrade and Tecia Torres provide the co-main event, while fan favourite and local boy “Platinum” Mike Perry returns to the Octagon in a welterweight showdown against Max Griffin.

With more exciting talents such as Ovince Saint Preux, Ilir Latifi, Renan Barao, Mike Kelleher, Angela Hill, Ben Saunders, Alan Jouban and Sam Alvey featured throughout the fight card, it should be a fun night of fights.

Full fight card

Main card (FOX – 20:00pm ET, 17:00pm PT (USA)  |  BT Sport – 01:00am GMT (UK))
Jeremy Stephens vs. Josh Emmett
Jéssica Andrade vs. Tecia Torres
Ovince St. Preux vs. Ilir Latifi
Mike Perry vs. Max Griffin

Preliminary Card (FOX – 18:00pm ET, 15:00pm PT (USA)  |  BT Sport – 23:00pm GMT (UK))
Renan Barão vs. Brian Kelleher
Sara McMann vs. Marion Reneau
Maryna Moroz vs. Angela Hill
Alan Jouban vs. Ben Saunders

Preliminary Card (UFC Fight Pass – 16:00pm ET, 13:00pm PT (USA)  |  21:00pm GMT (UK))
Gilbert Burns vs. Olivier Aubin-Mercier
Marcin Prachnio vs. Sam Alvey
Rani Yahya vs. Russell Doane
Alex Perez vs. Eric Shelton
Manny Bermudez vs. Albert Morales

 

Jake Hughes

Jake Hughes

Jake Hughes is an MMA writer who has covered the sport since 2013 for publications such as Vice Sports, Fightland, Sherdog and now Fighters Only, where he serves as freelance digital editor.